Uploaded image for project: 'Teiid Designer'
  1. Teiid Designer
  2. TEIIDDES-1864

Changes to a table's columns can result in role being reset for the entire model

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Done
    • Affects Version/s: 7.7, 8.2
    • Fix Version/s: 8.3
    • Component/s: None
    • Labels:
      None
    • Workaround Description:
      Hide

      1) Create a project with a single virtual model with the below schema:

      model1
      -> table1a
      ---> column1a1
      ---> column1a2
      -> table1b
      ---> column1b1
      ---> column1b2

      2) Define a role on the table, removing read permissions from 'column1a2'.
      3) Save all changes.
      4) Rename column 'column1b2' to 'uselessColumn', leaving a schema like below:

      model1
      -> table1a
      ---> column1a1
      ---> column1a2
      -> table1b
      ---> column1b1
      ---> uselessColumn

      5) Save changes and synchronize the VDB.
      6) Edit data role to see that the permissions have defaulted and 'column1a2' now has read permissions

      Show
      1) Create a project with a single virtual model with the below schema: model1 -> table1a ---> column1a1 ---> column1a2 -> table1b ---> column1b1 ---> column1b2 2) Define a role on the table, removing read permissions from 'column1a2'. 3) Save all changes. 4) Rename column 'column1b2' to 'uselessColumn', leaving a schema like below: model1 -> table1a ---> column1a1 ---> column1a2 -> table1b ---> column1b1 ---> uselessColumn 5) Save changes and synchronize the VDB. 6) Edit data role to see that the permissions have defaulted and 'column1a2' now has read permissions
    • Bugzilla Update:
      Perform

      Description

      I have a model like below with a role defined to remove read privileges on 'column1a2' only.

      model1
      -> table1a
      ---> column1a1
      ---> column1a2
      -> table1b
      ---> column1b1
      ---> column1b2

      I adjust the model to rename 'column1b2' to 'uselessColumn':

      model1
      -> table1a
      ---> column1a1
      ---> column1a2
      -> table1b
      ---> column1b1
      ---> uselessColumn

      The role is reset and now has default read privileges defined across the entire model. I have to manually edit the role to reset it to the prior defined permissions.

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Issue Links

              Activity

                People

                • Assignee:
                  jolee Johnathon Lee
                  Reporter:
                  mshirley Marc Shirley
                • Votes:
                  0 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  4 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  • Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved: