Uploaded image for project: 'Teiid Designer'
  1. Teiid Designer
  2. TEIIDDES-1738

Data role editor modifications can result in duplicate roles being generated.

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Done
    • Affects Version/s: 7.7.3
    • Fix Version/s: 8.2, 7.7.4
    • Component/s: None
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:

      This appears to be more prominent on Windows, but duplicate roles have been observed on both Windows and Linux machines.

    • Steps to Reproduce:
      Hide

      Reproduction seems inconsistent, but the below steps have produced an issue more than once. The issue also appears to present different dependent upon the method of opening the data role to edit (double-click versus using the "Edit selected data role" icon).

      Steps to replicate:
      1) create a new role (for example, "testRole")
      2) click finish to save the role
      3) edit the role to adjust permissions (for instance, remove read permissions from a table)
      4) click finish to save the modified role
      5) adjust model in vdb (for instance renaming a child table)
      6) save model
      7) synchronize vdb
      8) edit the role to verify permissions (in testing this showed the correct permissions) and click cancel if correct
      9) edit the role to verify permissions again (this showed different permissions than step 8 in multiple tests)

      Show
      Reproduction seems inconsistent, but the below steps have produced an issue more than once. The issue also appears to present different dependent upon the method of opening the data role to edit (double-click versus using the "Edit selected data role" icon). Steps to replicate: 1) create a new role (for example, "testRole") 2) click finish to save the role 3) edit the role to adjust permissions (for instance, remove read permissions from a table) 4) click finish to save the modified role 5) adjust model in vdb (for instance renaming a child table) 6) save model 7) synchronize vdb 8) edit the role to verify permissions (in testing this showed the correct permissions) and click cancel if correct 9) edit the role to verify permissions again (this showed different permissions than step 8 in multiple tests)
    • Bugzilla Update:
      Perform

      Description

      Editing the data roles through the VDB data roles editor can result in duplicate roles being generated, or the roles not being saved correctly in the current active copy of the role. Observed effects:
      1) duplicate roles appearing
      2) permissions being reset after VDB synchronization
      3) duplicate roles appearing after attempting to delete a role

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Issue Links

              Activity

                People

                • Assignee:
                  jolee Johnathon Lee
                  Reporter:
                  mshirley Marc Shirley
                • Votes:
                  0 Vote for this issue
                  Watchers:
                  4 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  • Created:
                    Updated:
                    Resolved: